How i became a software engineer and why ?

From Mathematics teacher to software developer

I'm ## Longmene Djoumesse Gibril, a web, mobile full stack developer. Four years ago, i didn't know which part to take in my life after high school. I always wanted and dreamed to be a math teacher. So after high school, i wanted to go to a teacher training school. But unfortunately, I failed. I was so depressed after that, didn't know what to do. I decided to stay in the house for that year and think about what i was going to do with my life. While sitting in the house every day, i was on my computer playing games and a thought came in my mind: "how are those game even created?" (ps: i am not game developer). I went online and typed that on google search and that was the first time i saw the words: python, C, C++, Java.... I was overwelmed when i also saw the range salary of developers. I was not depressed anymore, by that time i knew i have found a purpose for my life and i knew what i wanted to be in future. So i started reading articles online on how to become a software developer. With a little search, i started my journey in software development and today i master the following technology:

  • HTML and CSS
  • JavaScript
  • PHP(CodeIgniter)
  • Python(Django)
  • ReactJS/React Native
  • NodeJS/ExpressJS
  • Git/Github
  • others

In simple words, today i don't regret failing at teaching. I am happy and software engineering is the best field everyone should dream about. Today i teach other people how to code and see them building cool stuff and i am super for it. Programming became my passion the day i started coding.

This is my first article and it is about me, Hope you enjoyed reading it... On my next article, i will share with you guys the roadmap i took to become a full stack dev and the difficulties i faced while learning the tech stack i was using.